
WHAT IS AN EXEMPTION? 

An exemption is a release from the obligation to 

pay all or a portion of the taxes assessed on a 

parcel of property. 

 

The definition of “Veteran” found in G. L. Ch.4 

§7, Clause 43 has been expanded to include 

several categories of persons who do not have 

war time service, i.e., they served during peace 

time.  But a change in the definition alone 

would not have made peacetime veterans who 

came within the new definition eligible since the 

exemption statutes themselves expressly require 

wartime service. Those provisions have been 

deleted with Ch. 352 §§24 and 25 of the Acts of 

2004 this has made peace time veterans eligible. 

 

To be eligible to receive these benefit(s) the 

veteran will need to provide a Certificate (from 

the Department of Veterans Affairs) stating the 

loss is service related. 

 

 The Clause 22* exemptions provide assistance 

to veterans who meet the disability and 

residency requirements.  Please note that if you 

are an elderly veteran and have a limited 

income, you may be eligible for a greater 

amount of assistance under Clause 41C. 

 

HOW DO I APPLY? 

Applications must be filed annually with the 

Board of Assessors by April 1 

Renewals: If you were granted an exemption 

last year, the Board of Assessors will send you a 

renewal application.  However, it is your 

responsibility to ensure that a renewal is filed 

each year. 

New Applications: If you think that you 

qualify, notify the Board of Assessors at      

(781) 431-1019 x 2272. 

 

Supporting documentation, including a 

certificate of eligibility from the Department 

of Veterans Affairs and all other materials 

which will help the Board of Assessors make a 

determination, will be requested. 

 

As a reminder, the filing of an application does 

not mean you can postpone the payment of your 

tax. 

 

*Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 59, 

Sect. 5, Clause 22 

 

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS 

An individual must (1) have been a 

Massachusetts domiciliary for at least 6 months 

prior to entering the service OR (2) have lived 

in Massachusetts for not less than 5 years prior 

to filing for an exemption.  The veteran must 

occupy the property as his or her domicile on 

July 1 of the Tax Year. 

 

OWNERSHIP 

1. A qualifying applicant must possess a 

sufficient ownership interest in the 

domicile.  To satisfy this ownership 

requirement, the person’s interest must be 

worth $2,000-$10,000 depending on the 

exemption. The person may own this 

interest solely, as a joint owner or as a 

tenant in common. 

2. The holder of a life estate satisfies the 

ownership requirement. 

3.  If the domicile is held in a trust, a person       

      can only satisfy the ownership interest if he: 

a) Is a trustee or co-trustee of that trust, 

and  

b) Possesses a sufficient beneficial interest 

in the domicile through that trust.  

(Splitting the interest between multiple 

trusts does not qualify.)  

 

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS AND 

EXEMPTION AMOUNTS/EACH CLAUSE 

 

 

Clause 22 - $400  

This exemption is available to the following 

classes of persons: 

1. Veterans with a service related disability of 

10% or more as determined by the Veterans 

Administration or the branch of service 

from which separated. 

2. Veterans who have been awarded the Purple 

Heart. 

3. Gold Star mothers and fathers. 

4. Spouses (where the domicile is owned by 

the veteran’s spouse and as long as the 

surviving spouse remains unmarried) and 

surviving spouses of veterans entitled to 

exemption. 

5. Surviving spouses of World War I veterans 

so long as they remain unmarried and so 

long as their whole worth, less any mortgage 

on the property, does not exceed $20,000. 

 

Clause 22A - $750 

This exemption is available to veterans (or their 

surviving spouse) who: 

1. Suffered a service related loss or permanent 

loss of use of one foot or one hand or one 

eye. 

      Or 

2. Received the Congressional Medal of 

Honor, Distinguished Service Cross, Navy 

Cross or Air Force Cross. 

If the subject property is greater then a single 

family house, only that fraction of $750 which 

corresponds to the segment occupied by the 

veteran will be allowed. 

 

 



 

Clause 22B - $1,250  

This exemption is available to veterans (and 

their spouses) who suffered a service related 

loss or permanent loss of use of both feet or 

both hands or both eyes.    

If the subject property is greater then a single 

family house, only that fraction of $1,250 which 

corresponds to the segment occupied by the 

veteran will be allowed. 
 

Clause 22C - $1,500 

This exemption is available to veterans (or their 

surviving spouse) who (1) suffered total 

disability in a service related incident and (2) 

who received assistance in acquiring “specially 

adapted housing” which they own and occupy as 

their domicile, and their spouses or surviving 

spouses. 

If the subject property is greater than a single 

family house, only that fraction of $1,500 which 

corresponds to the segment occupied by the 

veteran will be allowed. 
 

Clause 22D – Full, with a cap of $2,500 after 

5 years 

This exemption is available to surviving spouses 

(who do not remarry) of service members or 

guardsmen who died from injury or disease due 

to being in a combat zone, or who are missing in 

action and presumed dead due to combat. 
 

Clause 22E - $1,000 

This exemption is available to veterans (or their 

surviving spouse) who suffered total disability 

in a service related incident and are incapable of 

working. 

If the subject property is greater than a single 

family house, only the fraction of $1000 which 

corresponds to the segment occupied by the 

veteran will be allowed. 
 

Paraplegic – Total Exemption 

Paraplegic veterans, those with service-related 

injuries as determined by the US Dept of 

Veterans Affairs, or their surviving spouses, are 

eligible for total exemption on their property 

taxes.  The surviving spouse may keep the 

exemption upon remarriage. 
 

WARTIME SERVICE 

Wartime service is service performed by a 

“Spanish War veteran”, a “World War I 

veteran”, a “World War II veteran”, a “Korean 

veteran”, a “Vietnam veteran”, a Lebanese 

peace keeping force veteran”, a “Grenada rescue 

mission veteran”, a “Panamanian intervention 

force veteran”, a “Persian Gulf veteran”, or a 

member of the “WAAC.”  The dates for each 

qualifying military action are set out in G.L. Ch. 

4 §7(43). 
 

For Further Information: 

 

Board of Assessors 

Town Hall, 1
st
 Floor 

525 Washington Street 

Wellesley, MA  02482 

 

(781) 431-1019 ext. 2272 

www.wellesleyma.gov 

 

Monday – Friday 

8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

 

Department of Veterans Affairs 

J.F.K. Federal Building 

Government Center 

Boston, MA  02203 

800-827-4712 

www.va.gov 
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