Climate Action Committee

The Climate Action Committee (CAC) develops and implements initiatives to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from Wellesley's municipal, residential, commercial, industrial and institutional sectors.

Town Meeting established the CAC in 2010 to lead efforts to accomplish the goal adopted at the 2009 Annual Town Meeting:  reduce town-wide greenhouse gas emissions 10% below 2007 levels by the year 2013.

After the town met the 2013 goal, Town Meeting adopted a new goal: to reduce greenhouse gas emissions 25% below 2007 levels by the year 2020.

The Committee works across town with municipal departments, businesses, institutions, and civic and volunteer organizations to initiate and carry out actions to achieve emissions reductions and other sustainability initiatives.


Name Term Expires Appointed By
Fred Bunger 2024 Select Board
Cindy Mahr 2022 School Committee
Ellen Korpi 2022 Municipal Light Plant
Martha Collins 2024 Select Board
Sue Morris, Vice Chair 2023 Select Board
Laura Olton, Chair 2023 Select Board
Lise Olney 2022 Select Board

Membership Details

The Climate Action Committee consists of 7 members. The Select Board, the Municipal Light Board and the School Committee each appoint one member. These members may be a board member, officer, official or paid employee and may be a non-resident of the Town. The Select Board also appoint the remaining four members from residents active in the Town's volunteer sustainable energy initiatives or others who bring relevant expertise, such as knowledge about sustainable energy practices, marketing, or community engagement.

Watch CAC board meetings on-demand.