
WHAT IS AN EXEMPTION? 
An exemption is a release from the obligation to 
pay all or a portion of the taxes assessed on a 
parcel of property. 
 
The definition of “Veteran” found in G. L. Ch.4 
§7, Clause 43 has been expanded to include 
several categories of persons who do not have 
war time service, i.e., they served during peace 
time.  But a change in the definition alone 
would not have made peacetime veterans who 
came within the new definition eligible since the 
exemption statutes themselves expressly require 
wartime service. Those provisions have been 
deleted with Ch. 352 §§24 and 25 of the Acts of 
2004 this has made peace time veterans eligible. 
 
To be eligible to receive these benefit(s) the 
veteran will need to provide a Certificate (from 
the Department of Veterans Affairs) stating the 
loss is service related. 
 
 The Clause 22* exemptions provide assistance 
to veterans who meet the disability and 
residency requirements.  Please note that if you 
are an elderly veteran and have a limited 
income, you may be eligible for a greater 
amount of assistance under Clause 41C. 
 
HOW DO I APPLY? 
Applications must be filed annually with the 
Board of Assessors within three months of the 
mailing of the Third Quarter tax bill. 
Renewals: If you were granted an exemption 
last year, the Board of Assessors will send you a 
renewal application.  However, it is your 
responsibility to ensure that a renewal is filed 
each year. 
New Applications: If you think that you 
qualify, notify the Board of Assessors at      
(781) 431-1019 x 2272. 

 
Supporting documentation, including a 
certificate of eligibility from the Department of 
Veterans Affairs and all other materials which 
will help the Board of Assessors make a 
determination, will be requested. 
 
As a reminder, the filing of an application does 
not mean you can postpone the payment of your 
tax. 
 
*Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 59, Sect. 5, Clause 22 
 
RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS 
An individual must (1) have been a 
Massachusetts domiciliary for at least 6 months 
prior to entering the service OR (2) have lived 
in Massachusetts for not less than 5 years prior 
to filing for an exemption.  The veteran must 
occupy the property as his or her domicile on 
July 1 of the Tax Year. 
 
OWNERSHIP 
1. A qualifying applicant must possess a 

sufficient ownership interest in the 
domicile.  To satisfy this ownership 
requirement, the person’s interest must be 
worth $2,000-$10,000 depending on the 
exemption. The person may own this 
interest solely, as a joint owner or as a 
tenant in common. 

2. The holder of a life estate satisfies the 
ownership requirement. 

3.  If the domicile is held in a trust, a person       
      can only satisfy the ownership interest if he: 

a) Is a trustee or co-trustee of that trust, 
and  

b) Possesses a sufficient beneficial interest 
in the domicile through that trust.  
(Splitting the interest between multiple 
trusts does not qualify.)  

 

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS AND 
EXEMPTION AMOUNTS/EACH CLAUSE 
 
 
Clause 22 - $400  
This exemption is available to the following 
classes of persons: 
1. Veterans with a service related disability of 

10% or more as determined by the Veterans 
Administration or the branch of service 
from which separated. 

2. Veterans who have been awarded the Purple 
Heart. 

3. Gold Star mothers and fathers. 
4. Spouses (where the domicile is owned by 

the veteran’s spouse and as long as the 
surviving spouse remains unmarried) and 
surviving spouses of veterans entitled to 
exemption. 

5. Surviving spouses of World War I veterans 
so long as they remain unmarried and so 
long as their whole worth, less any mortgage 
on the property, does not exceed $20,000. 

 
Clause 22A - $750 
This exemption is available to veterans (or their 
surviving spouse) who: 
1. Suffered a service related loss or permanent 

loss of use of one foot or one hand or one 
eye. 

      Or 
2. Received the Congressional Medal of 

Honor, Distinguished Service Cross, Navy 
Cross or Air Force Cross. 

If the subject property is greater then a single 
family house, only that fraction of $425 which 
corresponds to the segment occupied by the 
veteran will be allowed. 
 
 
 
 



Clause 22B - $1,250  
This exemption is available to veterans (and 
their spouses) who suffered a service related 
loss or permanent loss of use of both feet or 
both hands or both eyes.    
If the subject property is greater then a single 
family house, only that fraction of $775 which 
corresponds to the segment occupied by the 
veteran will be allowed. 
 
Clause 22C - $1,500 
This exemption is available to veterans (or their 
surviving spouse) who (1) suffered total 
disability in a service related incident and (2) 
who received assistance in acquiring “specially 
adapted housing” which they own and occupy as 
their domicile, and their spouses or surviving 
spouses. 
If the subject property is greater than a single 
family house, only that fraction of $950 which 
corresponds to the segment occupied by the 
veteran will be allowed. 
 
Clause 22D – Full, with a cap of $2,500 after 
5 years 
This exemption is available to surviving spouses 
(who do not remarry) of service members or 
guardsmen who died from injury or disease due 
to being in a combat zone, or who are missing in 
action and presumed dead due to combat. 
 
Clause 22E - $1,000 
This exemption is available to veterans (or their 
surviving spouse) who suffered total disability 
in a service related incident and are incapable of 
working. 
If the subject property is greater than a single 
family house, only the fraction of $1000 which 
corresponds to the segment occupied by the 
veteran will be allowed. 
 

Paraplegic – Total Exemption 
Paraplegic veterans, those with service-related 
injuries as determined by the US Dept of 
Veterans Affairs, or their surviving spouses, are 
eligible for total exemption on their property 
taxes.  The surviving spouse may keep the 
exemption upon remarriage. 
 
WARTIME SERVICE 
Wartime service is service performed by a 
“Spanish War veteran”, a “World War I 
veteran”, a “World War II veteran”, a “Korean 
veteran”, a “Vietnam veteran”, a Lebanese 
peace keeping force veteran”, a “Grenada rescue 
mission veteran”, a “Panamanian intervention 
force veteran”, a “Persian Gulf veteran”, or a 
member of the “WAAC.”  The dates for each 
qualifying military action are set out in G.L. Ch. 
4 §7(43). 
 

For Further Information: 
 

Board of Assessors 
Town Hall, 1st Floor 

525 Washington Street 
Wellesley, MA  02482 

 
(781) 431-1019 ext. 2272 

www.wellesleyma.gov 
 

Monday – Friday 
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

 
Department of Veterans Affairs 

J.F.K. Federal Building 
Government Center 
Boston, MA  02203 

800-827-4712 
www.va.gov 
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