Wetlands Protection Committee

The Wellesley Wetlands Protection Committee (often referred to as the Conservation Commission in other towns) is a 5-member board of volunteers who are appointed by Wellesley's Natural Resources Commission (NRC). The NRC, having the powers and duties of a Conservation Commission, has delegated to the Wetlands Protection Committee the power and authority to administer and enforce the provisions of the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act (MGL Ch. 131 §40) and the Wellesley Wetlands Protection Bylaw (Article 44).

With this authority, the Wetlands Protection Committee (WPC) is responsible for reviewing and permitting any proposed work within a Wetland Buffer Zone, a Riverfront Area, or a Wetland Resource Area. The WPC should be consulted with prior to initiating any work within these areas.


  • 6:30 p.m.
  • Lower Town Hall
    525 Washington Street
    Wellesley, MA 02482


Name Title Term Expires
Richard Howell Chair June 30, 2019
Peter Jones Vice Chair June 30, 2021
John Adams Secretary June 30, 2019
Tobias Stover Member June 30, 2020
James McLaren Member June 30, 2020

The Wetlands Protection Committee is always seeking to add more board members. If you are interested in joining or learning more information, please contact nrc@wellesleyma.gov.